Zombie Awareness [Spoilers]

Ive been playing Cataclysm for a few years now (of course not constantly ^^) and recently “finished” another run after becoming more or less unkillable.

After thinking about ways to increase the difficulty (without screwing over newbies) ive had this idea:

Zombies or more accurately the blob become aware of you specifically after a while.
The blobs objective is to invade earth and probably the rest of the dimension and its very intelligent though not while it inhabits the zombies. While im not entirely sure if it possesses a hivemind it should be able to gather at least some intelligence about your exploits.

A survivor who cleared several towns and survived a hulk, the strongest “soldier” of the blob, should merit some attention at least.

So after you meet some requirements special hordes would come after you.

These would originate from a special rare laboratory. While the labs as they are now researched pretty much everything these labs were meant to research XE037 exclusively, where it was observed in conditions similar to its homeworld/plane. There the blob could assume its natural form (whatever that is) and of course be much more intelligent.
Now after the cataclysm these labs could form command centers of the blob and produce much more elite zombies (or other things). Maybe survivor zombies get herded there and implanted with a limited “blob brain” enabling them to use ranged weapons.

These “elites” would follow the player over great distances and use at least limited tactics and might even adapt.