Way to add new iuse values in a mod?

I was recently looking around in the json files, when I decided I’d like to add some new items, which in turn led me to wanting to create new iuse functions for a mod, without having to do any compiling or anything of that sort. Is there a way I can add a file to the mod’s folder that loads the new function? If it helps, I’d just like to copy the manhack’s script, so I could add a craftable item to spawn custom robots. I’m not a coder, so I’m don’t know what I could add, if anything, to make this work. Sorry in advance if something is unclear. Any help would be appreciated.

If you’re adding new gear, you’re going to need to write up the iuse in C++ and compile it. The RC car mod has its iuses in main, and the items in modpack.

Sorry.

I may just end up compiling it, then, and thank you for the reply.

You can create lua iuse’s, though there’s not much documentation on that currently. I also don’t think there’s a lua API to spawn stuff yet(I probably should fix that…).

Is there some sort of template I could get for the lua iuse, even if it is limited to not being able to spawn things?

The slow/fast zombie mods use lua to manipulate monster stats. I don’t recall if there’s a lua iuse anywhere, look through the mods folder for files with .lua extensions.

I’ve already taken a look through the mods, and I’ve used a lot of the available files for what I already have, but it seems the fast/slow zombies mods are the only ones that have .lua files.

I’ll see about writing an iuse example soon™.

Okay, done. You’ll have to wait for the PR to land though, and then you’ll need to use latest experimental.

Thanks for all of the help and replies so quickly, I’ll be sure to get this as soon as I can.