The most unpleasant surprise

The middle of nowhere. After midnight I ate a hot supper, drank some water and went to sleep in an improvised shelter. Campfire was giving me warmth. My horse was resting next to my shelter. Everything was alright. I fell asleep…

Sudden pain woke me up. Zombie bit my leg. It was holding me but I managed to escape from it’s grasp. I fried it in the campfire. There was another zombie. Already badly wounded. It also fried in the fire.

My horse is dead. It means that I may be dead within a week if I will be unlucky. It takes a single wolfpack or a cerbearus.

WTF happened? Are there random zombies in the fields and deep forests? There are two moonshine stills but they are not so close to me. Nothing more.

1. Why was the second zombie badly wounded?

2. Is it possible that the campfire attracted those zombies from far away?

I am using Dark Days of Dead. Hordes off. I consider myself a veteran of Cataclysm (I have been playing Cata since 2015) but it was a total surprise for me. Two zombies have never ambushed me at night like that. At least no in the middle of nowhere

1 Like

My guess is, there were dead bodies somewhere: the ones that already spawned in earlier versions of the game. But now they have a good chance of reviving, even before you get close to them.
If this is the case, they will have no clothes or other equipment on them.
That would also explain why they were “wounded”: when they rise they aren’t fully healed.

1 Like

If I recall correctly, only one of them was injured. I do not know if they had clothes on them. They fried in the fire. They came from the south, from a deep forest. I have never found bodies in forests like that. I have searched the area from where they came. No items, no blood, no casings, no other corpses. Nothing. But your explanation is the only one that makes sense

I regularly find random packs of zombies in forest. Also in fields.

1 Like