Tell the truth...you reload when you die

Sometimes things just Don’t go according to plan. Like when you’re working really hard on that new character, encounter a zombear and try to take it down using a shotgun only to forget getting hit interrupts your aim, then you’re getting tag teamed by him and his wolf spider romance. <—recently happened to me.
Or a faulty CBM installation, or other unfortunate events.
My question is how many of you reload the game when this happens? Would you consider it cheating? A learning experience? Or are you just that invested in your characters? And if you Don’t, do you see it as cheating the system? Let me know.

I do like 3(or less) death\fail saves in long runs and then if i die - new character

Lol, well I already went over that on this character. Maybe once I have more experience I’ll do it less. I do try to learn from every death.

When I started playing Cataclysm I reloaded constantly. I found that everywhere that wasn’t the evac shelter was wildly dangerous and the number of zombies were overwhelming.

Then I scaled back zombie spawns, health, and speed as I learned. Didn’t need to reload as much after that. Slowly worked my way back up to normal settings.

Now I never reload, on principle. I’m a decent player, now, and I enjoy the early game more than the late game anyway so death or lost install or bad mutation just makes the game more fun.

Yeah, I’ve got the zombie mutation time pretty low but I keep the zombie spawns the same. It’s the special zombies that really demolish beginners lol I find it hard to even get near a city when you never know if there’s a hulk around.

I always reload. It doesn’t ruin the gameplay, but atleast you know what to and not to do next time.

1 Like

I myself never reloaded any save, i always decided to learn from the problem and do it better next time. i love consequences, even when its a random unlucky moment thats unavoidable.