Setting up a base

I’m playing a default survivor game (I’m still new to this game). Headed to the nearest town and the first house I came to had a fireplace, so it would be nice to set up a base there. Then I headed west to another house which had a bit of food, but apparently no closable curtains, although it looks like there might be more town to the west. So I’m not sure where to try to set up a base. The fireplace house would seem to be the choice (heat, light, cooking etc), but if I’m going to have to keep moving further out each time and doing multiple trips in order to bring back supplies, then aren’t I just going to end up eating and drinking more because of the longer trips (I have the Light Eater perk which helps a bit)? At what point do you abandon a base due to lack of nearby supplies?

Also, how do you stop from being overwhelmed by the sheer number of objects that you come across? I have the perk that gives you extra carrying volume but I still can’t carry much at any one time. I suppose I could craft a makeshift sling if I can find a sheet, but still. So far in addition to the two houses I’ve come across an electrical store (took very little from there) and a clothing store (just took fitted clothes with zero encumbrance), and the second house had a few objects that I couldn’t decide on, including a charcoal cooking thing. There’s also a park full of zombie children to the south which is very creepy.

Basically I’d like to set up a base, maybe fortified with spike traps, and try to build up some supplies such as food, weapons, books, crafting materials etc, but I need to try to avoid wasting too much time doing it and having to consume my supplies in order to do it. So any tips would be welcome.