Roughly how long is a common cold expected to last? It feels way too long

First off, sorry if something like this has been posted, I tried to look it up but didn’t find anything or anything specific enough to my situation. I’m not very good at research.

So for the first day or two I struggled to find a proper water source and just had to drink out of the toilet bowls at the refugee center. This was before I realized japanese knotweed now exists and provides water and didn’t have a container to boil water.
I ended up getting a common cold soon after, which from from personal experience from myself and family normally lasts a couple days. Just after getting the common cold I got a stable water source and my health has been getting consistently higher, now ‘feeling great.’
The cold appeared on day 3 or 4 and it’s been 12 or 11 days then respectively. Getting positive lifestyle happened a couple days after getting the cold.
One of the things I have found is that supposedly vitamins are supposed to help so I’ve been taking one a day for the last 5 days.

This feels far too long for now being healthy and it just being the common cold. How much longer should I expect my survivor to be sick? Why does it last this long in the first place?

The average duration of the “common cold” as the game puts it is between a week to 10 days. “A couple of days” isn’t enough for your body to deal with a virus - and just binging vitamins while you’re sick doesn’t really make it any “faster” or “better.”. Best way to prevent your character from catching that sort of stuff is by giving good environmental protection to your character’s Mouth body part.