Remote control exploration?

Hiya.

I was wondering, is it possible to build a small vehicle that I can both control -and- view through remotely? I have installed remote controls into vehicles and driven them around before, but it would be a lot more useful and fun if I could go zipping around the world remotely from the comfort of my troglobyte lair.

Like duskers?

Id want it. I think its more of a technical limitation and it not being programmed than its unbalanced. Zombies would love to try to tear up your putt-putt remote car.

Maybe if you attached cameras and stuff? or if its not programmed in, it could use camera logic. I have no real technical experience and i havent tried it, but they’re ideas. :slight_smile:

Some sort of limited range drone (UAV) would be neat, just for overmap exploration.

Pretty sure the issue is 1 tracking from the vehichle’s perspective (following the drone as if it were the player character) and 2 what happens if your drone leaves the reality bubble.

Couldnt the reality bubble shift to the drone? And if you’re worried about hunger/thirst/sleep you could keep a single-tile bubble on your character.

I was thinking it could be more of an automated thing as opposed to being 100% player-controlled, thereby disregarding the reality bubble.

Option A)
Fire up a drone, it “automatically explores” the surrounding area in X tile radius over a time period of 1 hour, returns, and lands at the starting spot where it can be picked up again. While the drone does its thing, the overmap is updated every 5 minutes, gradually revealing the map in circular fashion. I mean, if you can imagine how circle (drone’s vision radius) travels in a wider circle (circular travel path)…

Option B)
Start a drone, it flies in a straight line at the chosen direction, and returns, revealing a thinner but longer stretch of the map.

Option C)