Only ever installed 0.A and prior, Need Help with new install 0.B(?) win7

I have played this game in the past and for awhile I have been playing on V.0.A and decided to (Finally) get the newest version from http://en.cataclysmdda.com/ and selected the Stable Windows Download.

In the past all I had to do was use winRAR to get the files out and then basically hit play and it would just start up, but this time it showed a little white window for a split second and then closed, I looked up the debug and found this:

15:17:35.975 : Starting log.
15:17:36.62 SDL : src/sdltiles.cpp:317: Failed to select render target: That operation is not supported
15:17:36.62 : initscr failed!
15:17:36.67 : Log shutdown.

So I came to the garage to find an answer, and found out that we now need a bunch of programs to get it to work?
http://smf.cataclysmdda.com/index.php?topic=3.0

Which I have never done before, so I try following the steps and It asks me to get Code::Blocks MinGW package
But I don’t know which one it is?
The link led me to three options:

codeblocks-13.12-setup.exe

codeblocks-13.12mingw-setup.exe

codeblocks-13.12mingw-setup-TDM-GCC-481.exe

Then I noticed that the topic is from 2013, so I am wondering if I am missing some context/If this is still the method or If I am having a different problem than I think I am having/making it more complex than it needs to be?

Basically I am just really confused.

That ‘bunch of programs’ is only needed if you’re trying to compile it from the source.

What it sounds like is that you’ve got a problem with the SDL rendering.

The simplest advice I can give would be to grab the Windows terminal release, which doesn’t use SDL.

As for fixing the issue itself, I’m not sure; I’ve got no real experience with the SDL code.

Thanks it works great! For the future, where can I find this type?

Just make sure you download a version labeled ‘terminal’, ‘console’, or ‘curses’ as opposed to one labeled ‘graphical’, tiles’, or ‘SDL’.