Going absolutely insane trying to compile with SDL on Windows

Just to clarify: I’m not a programmer. I can’t parse the sort of shorthand people used to compiling and programming take entirely for granted. If I read something that tells me to link x to y, but doesn’t tell me where or how to do this, I’m completely lost. That being said, I had no problems compiling Cataclysm eight months ago, but I cannot compile it with tiles enabled to save my life.

I’ve tried MinGW and CodeBlocks, followed six or so sets of instructions including the (apparently) hopelessly outdated set on the wiki, and had no luck whatsoever. In one case I managed to compile it, but trying to run the binary returned an error telling me I didn’t have SDL.dll on my computer. Another time MinGW seemingly forgot I had installed the C++ compiler completely and wouldn’t do anything. More recently I’ve tried putting the WinDepend package in the directory with the Cataclysm source and compiling it with CodeBlocks using the Release -SDL -Localised build, and it can’t find libintl.h for some reason.

Can anyone please offer a simple, straightforward set of instructions for compiling this damned program? I desperately want to introduce my own changes into my game, but this task that ought to be basic enough is proving impossible for me.

If the wiki agents updated in the event this gets an answer that would be really nice. Sadly windows compilation methods often suffer because most of our devs are on Linux.