Noob on day 3, game is going well except for one problem

…I’ve got a Z-9 trapped in the basement of my base, and it’s only a matter of time before it breaks out and kills me. It’s completely my own fault, of course; I let it chase me back here, ran out the back door and lost it, did some nighttime shopping, and when I came back it seemed to be gone. Apparently it remembered me…damn. It broke down a door and I led it to the basement, where I kited it around until I got a tile ahead and shut the door on it. I doubt the door will hold.

This is my first time making it to day 3. I’m working out of my original evac shelter, about four map tiles east of a medium-sized town. I’ve got about four days’ supply of food and two days of water. It is mid morning.

I’ve been raiding houses every night and had some luck with weapons, but not so much with armor. I just picked up a machete and a tanto. I have some ammo but no guns; there’s a gun store across town I haven’t hit yet. There’s a fair amount of tools and materials I want to take with me, but I think I can carry the important stuff with a duffel bag.

Currently wearing:

• Motorcycle helmet, sunglasses, dust mask, safety glasses, knit scarf
  • Trenchcoat, backpack, duffel bag, tank top
  • Arm warmers, bindle, light gloves
  • Leg warmers, socks, sneakers, cargo pants, briefs

Skills:

[ul][li]Tailoring 3[/li]
[li]Melee 2 (Eskrima)[/li]
[li]Dodging 2[/li]
[li]Piercing weapons 2[/li]
[li]Fabrication 2[/li]
[li]Unarmed combat 1 (99%…)[/li]
[li]Archery 1[/li]
[li]Handguns 1[/li]
[li]Cooking 1[/li][/ul]

The way I see it, I have three options: