New player needing guidance

So I’ve been playing a lot Cogmind, but, needed a break so I started playing CDDA. I initially tried using tiles but I found it very difficult to spot monsters and determine what the heck is going on so I switched to ASCII. I did a lot digging around in the forums, Reddit, and now here. I got my font changed to a larger size, Consolas Bold at 20 because I’m supposed to wear glasses but I don’t like a dummy and CDDA on a 32" 1440p monitor at default font size is like playing Simant in a window. I played with a mod or two just to have fun and see what the game is about. Just the dinomod really, because it sounded cool. First character opened a curtain and sees a T-rex “fleeing” form something. If a T-Rex is fleeing, then I should probably close the curtains and assume the fetal position.

Long story short I’ve died several times in various sometimes dumb but silly and funny ways. Burned to death in the basement of a shelter trying to cook meat with 8 2x4’s which turned out to be too much and set everything on fire. Crawled around with broken legs trying to get to the exit I did try to cook while everything was on fire because I needed food and then died.

Or that time when a Mi-go spawned near my shelter and I was like “whats that?” then suddenly “Damn it’s fast!” and then dead.

I’ve been:
Melted in a pool of spitter acid.
Choking to death in a smoker zombies cloud as he tore me apart.
Gunned down by sentry bots in a prison.
Tore limb from limb by a pack of wild chihuahuas.
Impaled by a giant wasp.
Mutated into rat women who then died to a growler.
Eaten alive by school children
Died in a pit
Torn apart again by a Mi-go
Heavily armed only to die to a pack of coyotes
Bled out in a dark basement after a really bad situation