My fire keeps going out, how do I manage it so I can make biscuits? [Help a noob]

I’m new to the game and using a build from last week (c7fe5fe ??).

I’ve now survived long enough to try and do some cooking.

I have several jugs of milk about to go bad and a box of flour.
I also have found a fireplace and have some heavy sticks and a lighter.
I’ve started my character with 2 cooking skill, which seems plenty for the biscuits.
I have pot.

I can put a stick in the fireplace and then activate the lighter to make a fire.
So far so good.

I select & crafting, go to food and select to make 5 biscuits in a batch using b.

It then fails because I don’t have enough light because my fire goes out.

1. I have found many sources, tips and guides on the internet saying that you should always craft in batch when possible as it’s faster and the game only checks at the start of the batch for conditions like light and fire. Has this changed? It seems not to be true.

2. I’ve also found vague references that it’s possible to keep a fire going by designating a stack of firewood or something like that, but I can’t find that in the interface.

3. I can’t seem to find out how long a fire will burn on a single piece of wood. I need to craft for 1 hour and 30 minutes.

4. If I throw all my wood on the fire, will it burn for longer, on the internet it just seems to say it will burn hotter. Will it burn all my wood at once?

5. If a fire goes out, and I’m making a batch, I would expect at least some of them to be finished, but I still have all the milk and flour in my inventory, no unbaked biscuits or dough.

How do I actually make the biscuits?

You’re going to need light for the entire duration of the cooking action. My assumption is that you’re trying to batch craft it all at once. Try doing it in smaller batches and adding more firewood as you go. There is a new system to automatically refill fires but I haven’t messed with it yet.