Most Recent Mac Version Won't Open

Like…At all! I’m running on an OSX 10.6.8 Intel Macbook Pro and the “pre-10.7” version linked on the homepage won’t open. I open the .dmg and launch the file inside but it closes itself not a second afterwards.

Am I missing something? :S

Ok so I’ve hunted around a bit and come to find out that I need to do…Something or another in the terminal to compile or install the game? The old version was just click-and-run so I’m really new to this and all the tech jargon in the installation thread has me at a loss.

Ugh. Well first thought, what version of OS X do you have and which Mac build did you download? The first Mac build (labeled 10.7+) will only work on Lion or above. The 2nd one should work on older versions (Leopard, Snow Leipard).

Also, this may help:
http://smf.cataclysmdda.com/index.php?topic=4276.msg62162#msg62162

I am on OSX 10.6. I downloaded the pre-10.7 version first because it made the most sense to use. No dice. Tried the 10.7+ version on a whim and, of course, it didn’t work either.

I saw an earlier thread mentioning a very similar issue to mine, but with a slightly older build. However, I don’t believe anyone in the thread came up with a viable solution.

It’s really a bummer that Macs are such an under-supported platform in the gaming world, so if there’s anything I can do to help test builds and such, I’d be open to doing that in my free time. I don’t know a whole lot about coding outside of hella basic ActionScript, but the least I know when something works or doesn’t work.

To add, the error I seem to get in Terminal is “Image Not Found.” Sounds like I have a file missing or misnamed?

Well that’s bizarre. I’m assuming you started it from the console via something like:
$ open -a Cataclysm.app

?

Could you try looking inside Cataclysm.app/Contents/Resources and Cataclysm.app/Contents/MacOS for log files to see if there’s something interesting in them?