Martial Arts Ideas, and adding MMA

So I’ve been playing and save scum in the game for about 9 months. I finally invested enough time in a character that I’ve actually started to find martial arts manuals and decided to put make a few suggestions to the martial arts system in game.

What I love and what works well:

The variety

The flavor text

The bonuses

The absurdity.

What I don’t like:

Incompatibility.

Lack of fluidity

Exclusivity

I love that if your character knows judo you take less damage from being thrown and I like that if you know boxing you throw punches more quickly and do more damage. What I don’t love is that if I am holding a knife I suddenly forget all of my grappling and striking fundamentals because I did not switch my martial arts system. I also do not like that certain skills such as countering seemed to be exclusive to certain weapons and the brawling style, even though a counterattack is found in literally every single martial art.

So I’m suggesting that we make a new martial art in the game, that uses bonuses from all of the martial arts that is compatible with all the weapons.

I know that swordsmanship is a specific skill and that you have to train at using a sword to become proficient with it, however distance management is a skill in every single fighting style and if I’m proficient in one let’s say karate and I have experience let’s say hi unarmed skill around 4, then I know the distance at which I can hit you with the sword that you cannot hit me from. by the same token if I know judo and I’m using a knife and you grab me I still know all of my throws and takedowns.