"Interactiv" Tutorial for Lua

Hello all.

Have you ever thought “CDDA is such an awesome game with so much stuff”? I have a lot. There are so many items and buildings and monster and…
I want to contribute a little to the game. It’s easy with json modding, but I got into the possibilitys of lua. There is a very long list of CDDA-commands which allows to write scripts. I am not a programmer but lua seems to be easy. We could do a lot with it. I don’t understand why there is so few content written in lua. Let’s change this.

For me as a non-programmer it is still difficult to get acces to c++ calls and returns. So I thought we could to a little tutorial here. Or some kind of the “Tips, Tricks, and Newb Questions!” thread for lua. It would be nice if the people who are familiar with lua in CDDA share theire knowledge. We could gather Code Snippets, links to older threads with lua content in it and help each other programming. I offer to gather the stuff and extend the Wiki with it.

I have several differing opinions about this, but its be nice.

Please share them with me. For shure you have more informations then me. I’m only playing for a couple of weeks now.
If Lua is some sinking ship I don’t need to do this. Then I would rather concentrate on c++ instead.

LUA is hard. C++ is hard.

These are complex enough that there are university level courses to cover them. Youre asking for people to write a guide for free on a complex subject they themselves sometimes space over. There’s a reason its a full time ‘team’ job.

That said, the aim of this forum is to host and discuss an open game that was crowdfunded.
That said a guide is above and beyond.

And then who corrects/moniters the mistakes? Dont get me wrong, I too wish to learn more coding. I do some studying on my own time. But Im not going to pretend that even with a guide I could make my own code without error or asking for help.