I Wanna Live

I wanna live!

I have started a new survivor. Pvt. Patrick Espinoza, STR 10, DEX 10, INT 8, PER 10, Bionic Soldier Background, Starting Skills: Dodging 1, Handguns 1, Marksmanship 1, Rifles 1, Traits: Bad Temper, Fast Metabolism, Strong Scent, Poor Hearing, Accomplished Sleeper, High Adrenaline. Worldgen deets: World Name: Cypress Grove (Clutch reference), Monster Spawn Rate: 0.9 (so 90% as I understand), Item Spawn Rate: 1.10 (so 110% as I understand), 14 Day Seasons.

My goal for this survivor is to actually…survive. For at least like…a year. Which I have never done before. As a matter of fact, after years of playing this game, I don’t think I’ve ever had a character survive past the summer. Maybe I once had a character survive into the fall. Some of these characters might not have bit it, but just been abandoned when I got hooked on some other game and couldn’t remember their “narrative” when I came back to C:DDA. So boredom is an issue too, although it shouldn’t be. I know from posts I’ve read there’s a lot of awesome mid and late-game content even in the build I’m currently playing (0.C Stable) that I’ve never seen.

Please give me all your tips and tactics to help keep Pvt. Espinoza alive. In return, I will periodically update you with his progress. Thanks.

• Humble Oldnewb

When in the cities, use vehicles to your advantage. If you change direction around them when escaping, monsters will get trapped on them making escape easier.

A refugee center makes a great home. If you can make a funnel and have a bottle of water, you have the basics down by scavenging bushes and light hunting

The combat knife can be attached to you rifle so you can use it as a spear in a pinch. Switch your firing mode to “reach” and you will get a 2 tile range melee attack!