Cooking/Crafting improvements

As an amateur chef myself, I don’t often follow a specific recipe, especially when it’s any kind of soup, stew, casserole or stir-fry. I think cooking should be more “open ended,” allowing players to cook without a specific recipe. For example, making a soup with broth and canned vegetables. There should also be a way to add seasoning “to taste,” providing a higher morale bonus when eaten (and to help cover up the taste of food that is going bad or otherwise unpleasant.)

Here are some ideas for how it could work:

Under the cooking menu in crafting, have an option for “no recipe”

This will allow you to select ingredients and a method for cooking, and provide the ability to process individual ingredients separately (chopping up things, tenderizing meat, boiling pasta etc.)

After cooking you can optionally add seasoning.

Also, allow a “set and forget” method that allows you to do other things while they are being prepared (and have it burn or overcook if you leave it too long)
Maybe you can take a page from Unreal World’s book and have players be able to “smell” when things are done cooking.

This system of individually processing different components in a recipe can apply not only to cooking, but all crafting as a whole. For instance, when making some new clothes, you can work on it for a certain amount of time (a certain number of hours or “until done”), leave to do other things and come back to finish where you left off.