Bring the survival back with progressive difficulty

[size=18pt]Intro[/size] (can skip this)
After reading a bunch of suggestion threads concerned with balancing and survival, I found there were a lot of people arguing that it is already quite difficult and an equal number that it is not nearly difficult enough. After giving it some thought I think that both statements are quite true. Let me elaborate.

While most roquelikes and roquelike-likes are known for their difficulty, they are still quite accessible, even for complete beginners (again, not all, DF is anything but accessible to beginners). It is quite easy to clear the first few floors in Nethack, get through a few starsystems in FTL or get to the first boss in The Binding of Isaac, but no one would call these easy games. That is because they possess progressive difficulty, the challenge rises as the player progresses.

Progressive difficulty is what Cataclysm lacks. Starting out as a new player with a new character is extremely challenging, but once you’ve grasped the basics and acquired the equipment you need, survival and all other dangers become trivial. This makes balancing very hard, since a global increase in difficulty (say by introducing Zombiewolfs) would mostly affect the already plenty challenging beginning. Its of course not trivial to make the game progress in what is essentially a Sandbox: The player is not forced to go anywhere, must not go down level after level and the alternative of an arbitary increase in difficulty is not desirable (oh, the player has a shotgun? better spawn more Zombears then!).

[size=18pt]The Idea[/size]