Any technique or mods to automate debug menu wishes? (sort-of cheating, but not really)

background: I’m relatively new to CDDA (but not to roguelike), I figured out a routine for the first day that gives my basic tools and equipment and train basic skills, I do it every time I die and start a new game, so it’s getting repetitive.

I don’t want to resort to save-scumming (mainly because dying wouldn’t reset my world), so I figured the debug menu is the way to go. but alas, manually looking up the same 20-something items is also not very fun.

I haven’t manage to find any mod to answer my need, so maybe someone here can guide me in the right direction?

Thanks.

You could make a mod that contains one item that is disassembled into the 20ish item you want. Then you just wish for that item and you get everything you want.

Also it s totally cheating, and maybe trying harder scenario would be more fun. But that’s ok you do you.

1 Like

Alright I’ve made the mod : https://github.com/Fris0uman/cdda-BagOfWish-mod

You just have to edit the list of component in bagofwishes\recipe_deconstruction.json

Wow, that’s incredibly generous of you to make me a mod, you are a life saver.

I don’t know anything about mods, even installing this one manually and then getting it to work took me over an hour (and I still haven’t figured how to spawn clothes that are not poor fitting). There’s no way I would make a mod myself.

PS
I still insist it’s not cheating, I’m not getting an AR-15, just the makeshift hammer and all the other stuff I make from the shelter furniture and nearby rocks. I’m giving myself huger and thirst to reflect a hard day of work as well…

1 Like

And I insist that… cheating or not, really should not matter if ultimately game is more enjoyable for you :slight_smile: You don’t have to explain yourself before anyone other than you, If this mod make game less tedious and more for you, hen kudos to the author :slight_smile:

1 Like