Zomborg, should I engage or run?

I am pretty new to this game, this is my 6th day and two zomborgs are near my house so should I engage or should I go away from them? The best weapon I have is a spear.

Blanket approach for all monsters:

1. do you really have to fight them?
  2. do are you able to avoid them?
  3. if you are not aware whether they are strong or weak, whether they have hidden abilities other than casually slapping, clawing at, gnawing or lunging at you, do you think it’s a good idea to risk it?

If the answer to at least 1 of these is “no.”, then don’t engage.
I don’t want to spoil it for you and say whether you can or not survive them (also depends on other conditions like terrain, your stats etc). But a good rule of thumb for any encounter is “If I don’t need to fight them, I will just avoid them.”

3 Likes

@AcidAntOnAMinefield provided a good response.

I’ll add an additional one: If they’re uncomfortably close to where you intend to stay or work, you may take a look at them to see what the speed assessment is. If they seem to be slower than you, you may want to get them to chase you and then run when you’ve lured them away sufficiently far and then loop back to your hideout (Note that I haven’t encountered zomborgs [I think they’re new]). When luring enemies away you ought to do that in a direction you’re reasonably sure won’t have you running into other enemies…

Predator relocation program! What’d be really cool is if you move 2 zombies at least 2 overmap tiles away and leave them there they lay an egg!

No. Wait. That one goes in the terrible ideas thread.

Fun fact:

Many insects already lay eggs to reproduce. So if you have e.g free roaming wasps around your base, you may be in for an unplesant surprise some day…

This is one of the times this advice COULD not apply. The zomborgs apparently drop CBMs and are one of the few ways to get them on experimental. If you have no need for CBMs, proceed with blanket approach.