Restricted field of view

I like field of view from ,UnReal World". It is also a survival simulator. Is it possible to add something like this to Cata?

We can see things only in front of us

Its already under discussion on the Github.

Map memory is a totally different thing to field of vision.

Field of vision is unlikely to happen due to how restrictive is it.

Whales explained back in the day why it’s not a thing: If implemented, basically it’d just add more micro-management where every few steps you’d have to turn around to see if something is behind you. The game assumes your character does the turning around automatically, saving you the hassle. Yes, Cataclysm’s design philosophy used to be very different from what it’s now, let’s leave it there as much as possible.

Perhaps it could be a mod, though not being a coder myself I don’t know if it would be very practical to put the effort into such a massive change in gameplay mechanics without making it part of the main game. In addition to changing the field of view, you also have to completely alter the movement controls, as well as certain actions(no smashing objects in or picking up/dropping objects onto tiles you can’t see, etc.). Personally I think it would be interesting to play around with, might even be better than it is now. Who knows.

I actually think it could be fun. I remember finding the fov in UnReal quite fun.

I can see how it could be different, but if ever added I’d certainly like to have the ability to turn it off.

I vote no.

It drives me insane in project zomboid that my character is only aware of that which is in a narrow cone in front of them. It’s too limited in the opposite direction (of omniscience).