Non player faction things to do with npcs

preface: I am a programmer by trade, and i utterly abhor touching anything programing related in my free time as what was once a job of love is now one of hate. so my motivation to upkeep this is going to be 0 if i make it, and honestly theres like a 50% chance ill give up halfway through making it. Ive not done anything for cdda, so i dont know what etiquette for this is, or if i should make this a mod or propose it to the base game or whatever.