Loop structure

My question is generic since I’m a totally noob and trying to understand how these games are structured. But I’m curious to know how Cataclysm handles this.

My problem is that I have a tendency to create loop branches to handle different program flows. So while I have a continuous loop normally, whenever combat comes up the main loop is halted and the game enters a sub-loop for combat. And whenever combat is over the control is returned to the standard loop.

So for example if I now implement some inventory system I’d have to spawn a new loop that handles inventory and when all it’s done control returns once again to the main loop.

This obviously is not the proper way to do things.

Especially, I can’t figure out a simple problem: it’s all fine if game logic in my main loop has to always do the same thing and be refreshed completely for every new cycle. So you look at the keyboard events, handle them, and then reiterate. BUT WHAT IF some event that is triggered creates influences on more than a single cycle/frame?

Say that an attack has to trigger some visual effect, and so the display is affected for more than a single frame, and the player can’t issue new commands in that time frame. This all means that this event has to “rig” the main loop for more than 1 cycle. How do you handle that properly? The non-proper but intuitive way I’m using is about creating sub-loops within the main loop. I know this is not how I SHOULD handle stuff.

What happens in regards to main loop and program flow, in Cataclysm, when you enter the inventory screen, for example?

[quote=“HRose, post:1, topic:2556”]My question is generic since I’m a totally noob and trying to understand how these games are structured. But I’m curious to know how Cataclysm handles this.