Lore: Mutations pre-Cata?

Question, came up in IRC, would appreciate opinions/dev input:

How commonplace were mutations in the years pre-Cataclysm? Would mutants be acceptable in daily life, and if so, in what capacities?

Would there be a market for mutagens, and if so, to what ends? Military-only? High-end bodyguards/companions? How public would this be?

Thanks for your time and consideration.

I’m not a developer so it’s very possible that I’m wrong. But here is my understanding of mutation in the lore.
Pre-cataclysm, mutations are probably very rare, and people have strong distaste for it - I imagined that individual with visible mutations would be shunned in society, either be feared or hated.
Mutations like what we have in Cataclysm exists mostly in secret lab or in unclassified military experiments, hidden from the public eyes. A market is unlikely, seeing that the military would try to keep it secret, but it’s possible that a few corrupted personnel would smuggler it outside to whoever need it in exchange for a hefty sum of money.

[quote=“infectedmochi, post:2, topic:3878”]I’m not a developer so it’s very possible that I’m wrong. But here is my understanding of mutation in the lore.
Pre-cataclysm, mutations are probably very rare, and people have strong distaste for it - I imagined that individual with visible mutations would be shunned in society, either be feared or hated.
Mutations like what we have in Cataclysm exists mostly in secret lab or in unclassified military experiments, hidden from the public eyes. A market is unlikely, seeing that the military would try to keep it secret, but it’s possible that a few corrupted personnel would smuggler it outside to whoever need it in exchange for a hefty sum of money. [/quote]

That has my support, very similar to the lines I’ve been writing my “That RP Thread” actions around