Is there a need for a detailed mutation guide?

Or is it better for players to stumble around in the dark?

No one is going to force people to read a guide. A guide would make things a lot more accessible to the people who want to have the information and those who like stumbling around in the dark can just not read it.

1 Like

There is one:
The cataclysm’s wiki

It might be a little out of date but, rather than making a new one it would be better to focus on fleshing that out a bit more.

3 Likes

The problem with that guide is that it focuses on mechanics and lists mutations in their respective trees.
But when I started playing, I was like ‘oh, a flask of mutagen. what can I get from it?’
And the wiki doesn’t make that clear. It just lists all mutations separated in some categories which is cool, but while inhaling gallons after gallons of mutagen, I simply did not fall into any category, instead mutating a lot of times in a lot of different ways and developing random mutations from random trees.
So the wiki just doesn’t answer the question ‘what are my chances to get mutation X if I swallow some mutagen for a breakfast’.

How to fix this? I dunno. A chart, maybe. You are more likely to get some mutations if you have some traits, but it’s very hard to perceive all that list of mutations at once. It’s just too huge and when you get to the middle of it, you already forget what’s in the beginning.