I am new to this game and I am confused on how the hunger system work

I am new to this game and I am confused on how the hunger system work. And also tips on how to fight zombies effectively

Hunger" status which is shown in side panel is “how full is your stomach”. Just like RL. It says nothing about how many calories you get from the food, that’s “satiety” - estimated parameter (calories/volume) you can check in 'E’at menu.

About fighting the zombies - early game, first order of business, don’t fight them except when you absolutely need to. For those cases when you do need to fight - first, make a cudgel, it is a great early-game weapon. Then upgrade to some sort of reach weapon (most likely spear) ASAP.
Use the terrain - zeds are dumb so you can lead them to bushes, even high grass will make them somewhat slower. Vehicles are also useful, with reach weapon and some skill you can sit inside and kill them as they try to move inside (moving in vehicle generally takes 4x time as moving on flat surface).
Ranged weapons are also good, but firearms are very noisy, and bows/slings require quite a few hits to take out the zombies. Personally, I prefers spears early on.

Another thing I was often forgetting when I only started playing - stamina management. The less you have, the worse and slower you fight and after some point you are so slow you can’t even run away from zeds.

What is the best spear to use early game and how to quickly craft it??

How to unfreeze food??

Fabrication 2: wooden spear, only need a knife and a fire to make.
Fab 3: peasant flail (only a cutting implement requierd), copper spear (copper is kinda rare though), will also need a thing with Hammering 1 - even a stone will do.
Fab 4: steel spear, but for that you’d need full-equipped forge setup so it isn’t quite early game.
There are also knife spear (fab 1) and simple knife spear (fab 0) but they are flimsy so they are not so useful. Still ok though.